we tell you everything about
your shoes

the choice of the materials

We are constantly on the lookout for new materials, both to be someday able to dispense of any petroleum-based products, and to encourage research and development of innovative, natural materials.

Polyurethane

Polyurethane (PU) is a polymer from the petrochemical industry. So why polyurethane? For its elasticity and robustness. Roller skate wheels, condoms and space suits, are made out of it!

It is a good choice for shoes as it’s breathable while being waterproof, which prevents excessive perspiration. It’s flexible and it guarantees comfort. It’s resistant to abrasion and stains. It is also free of phthalates, BPA (bisphenol A), known to be endocrine disruptors.

All our PU-containing textiles are manufactured in Europe and are guaranteed by the OEKO-TEX 100 label. They are produced without CO2 emissions. Their coating makes them breathable, antimicrobial, and anti-mold.

We don’t use PVC which is more polluting and toxic. It releases more volatile organic compounds and toxic components (such as hydrochloric acid) during its combustion.

Microfibre

Microfibre is made from synthetic fibers that are bonded together by the application under heat of a polyurethane resin. It's a non-woven fabric. It offers a "peach skin" look, more or less soft, reminiscent of nubuck and animal velvet leather. Microfibre offers the advantage of a very good breathability and doesn’t warp.

All our microfibres are made in Europe, and are guaranteed by the OEKO-TEX 100 label. They are produced without CO2 emissions. Their coating makes them breathable, antimicrobial, and anti-mold.

STANDARD 100 by OEKO-TEX

Label of the German independent association, OEKO-TEX certifies the ecological qualities of textiles and a production respectful of its workers. It guarantees the absence of harmful substances for the environment, both during its manufacture and when worn. The tests are done by independent laboratories and incorporate the latest scientific knowledge and legal requirements.

For more information, visit the OEKO-TEX website  ↗

Piñatex

Piñatex is a non-woven fabric. It comes from the fibers of the pineapple plant. Cultivated for its flesh in the Philippines — its stem-leaf waste is peeled in order to extract a long fiber, which, aggregated, will become the raw material.

In Spain, this leaf is covered with a PLA coating (polylactic acid), a kind of bioplastic.

PLA has the advantage of being biodegradable and derived from a natural resource. But its degradation would take considerable time in the wild. Alone, it’s recyclable; unfortunately, once associated with pineapple fiber that’s no longer the case. The Ananas Anam team is constantly working to improve its product: a bio-sourced topcoat to improve the biodegradability and recycling of its material is under development.

For more information, visit the Ananas Anam website

Insoles and accessories

Soles sourced locally. Accessories are sourced locally and nickel-free.

A long word about the leather industry

Opacity in this industry is a sine qua non rule. We often think that the skin that is used for our shoes is natural, that it comes from the animals we eat and whose production is less harmful for the environment or humans than faux-leather.

 

1.4 billion animals are killed every year for their skins; that is twice the European human population. Among these animals are cows, goats and lambs, but also cats and dogs — whose supple and thin skin is very popular for glove making. Not surprisingly, this information is rarely indicated on labels.

 

Made in France or Made in Italy labels only concern assembly; materials can come from anywhere in the world. And contrary to popular belief, animals killed for their flesh in Europe, raised in abominable conditions, have skins too damaged to be transformed. Thus, a UN report estimates that 80% of the skins used for the leather industry come from developing countries such as Bangladesh, India, China... Barely 2% come from France and only concern high-end products.

 

Animal skin must then be treated: this is called tanning, a complex and devastating process for the environment. Water intensive and employing dangerous chemicals such as chromium, it’s also very harmful to humans. In those countries, tannery workers are exposed to such products without any protection. Sewage waste is rarely treated, and discharged directly into the wild. An estimated 21 million liters of wastewater, coming from the 150 tanneries of the city, are dumped directly into the river in Dhaka, Bangladesh's capital.

This is not the only stage of the process that is hazardous, as tanning often involves chromium, which, mixed with other chemicals, can be allergenic or carcinogenic. In 2014, the German Federal Office for Consumer Protection estimates that 1 pair of leather shoes in 4 contains chromium trioxide.

 

For further information, we invite you to read the numerous articles from PETA about the leather industry ↗

 

There is no obvious choice or perfect solution, but a will to move forward by choosing the least aggressive materials, and to search for and encourage new solutions, by integrating them into our collections.

where are the shoes born?

Our shoes are drawn in the south of France. Design is our business. We do not come from a marketing background and we do not do copies. We offer you the best of our experience. In opposition to mainstream fashion practices, we want to put the product back at the heart of our work. For this we rely on the expertise of two factories. One is in Portugal, south of Porto, where family-run factories have kept skills and know-hows alive. The second one is in Spain, in the hinterland of Alicante, at the heart of the region where stylish shoes were historically made.

From drawing to boxing, the shoes will pass through the hands of dozens of technicians and workers. A shoe is a complex and fascinating product indeed.

 

First comes the design of "the last shape", which serves as an inverted mold and defines the profile of the shoe, as well as its fit. A mold is necessary for each size.

Then comes the pattern cutting and prototyping part. We try to reduce the number of samples, but sometimes up to 4 are necessary to ensure that the model is as great as it was in our minds! Once the sample is validated, comfort tests are carried out, materials are purchased, and finally, the factory can start the production.

 

First, the worker cuts, folds and glues the materials.The stitcher, then, puts the different parts together. The upper (the name given to the top of the shoe) is now ready. After threading the laces, it’s time for the big machines to come into play. The operator staples the midsole to the last, shapes the vamp, curves the instep and assembles the quarter. The surplus material is sanded. The heel is fixed and the outsole glued. “The last” can now be removed and used for another round. Our model is almost ready, still in need of inspecting and dressing : the insole is placed, and in the end, the shoe is cleaned, brushed and waxed. Both shoes from a pair are then boxed together in the assembly room.

 

They are now ready to be worn!

 

The factory takes two days to make a batch of shoes. They must rest between the different steps, or else the shoe could warp. To set up the various machines from the assembly line to the mold and the last of the model, it takes from half a day to a whole day.

 

We make very small, one hundred pairs per model batches, in human-sized factories. Our choices have an impact on our price. Labour costs roughly amount to €12 for a single pair. However, it's the right price for skilled workers who make our collections with care.

 

markup… a thorny issue!

At GURU we believe that the more the consumer is informed about what he is buying, the more the deal will be fair for the manufacturer, for the animals and for the environment.

This is why we tell you everything about our prices, materials, and locations. We also disclose our markup rate, which has generated quite a few reactions. Professionals think that the client isn’t ready to pay for the markup, and that it’s essential not to inform them about it.

Traditionally, in the fashion industry the culture is to make the customer believe that they’re making a bargain, that through discounts, reductions or sales, they’re getting an awesome deal. What comes out asobvious is that the manufacturer has calculated the cost of his "gifts", and that he has taken them into account when estimating his markup. The customer only buys the product at the price at which the manufacturer wanted to sell it. It’s in the manufacturer’s financial interest that the customer doesn’t realise how much of a markup there is on the product.

What do we use the markup for?

 

The markup funds our ability to produce and sell shoes, as well as it contributes to our legal obligations. Briefly, our markup allows GURU mtp to run.

On each one of our products’ pages we indicate a markup. This reflects our gross margin, which we’ve tried to optimise in order to have a fair final price. For this collection, the markup fluctuates between 2.15 and 2.8 depending on the model. For the shoe industry, this is a very small margin.

 

We can’t give you the exact detail of each euro spent per model, since it depends on the amount of models sold and their respective markups. However, we can make estimations in order to help you have a better understanding as to what your purchase is financing.

 

When closing the accounts at year’s end, we will be able to detail the actual allocations of our markup.

 

The markup finances our fixed and variable expenses. It does not represent our profits.

• Fixed expenses: what we pay every month regardless of our sales: bank account, insurance, accountant, website, rent, equipment, travels and communication.

• Variable expenses: expenses linked to our sales, such as bank fees, packaging, travels and communication.

• Travels and communication costs are part of the yearly-allocated budget but can also vary according to our sales (example: for a vegan fair/show).

 

To be more precise, here is what our markup pays for, estimated for the Tarentula black model on the basis of 30 pairs sold per month: :

 

Manufacturing/Factory price: 39,75 €

Selling price: 100 €

VAT: 20 € payed to the government.

 

Commercial profit: 60,25 €

Administrative

Banking Commission (eg paypal): 3€

Accounting: 6.50€

Professional bank account: 1€

Legal fees: 0,50€

Supplies

Research and materials: 0,50€

Office supplies and documentation: 0,70€

Computer hardware/software: 2.20€

Packaging: 2,50 €

Communication

Website: 0,70€

Fairs: 3€

Photo shoots: 2,67€

Travel expenses: 1,67€

Taxes: 1,33 €

 

Total expenses: 26,27€

 

This means that for each model sold, 30.33€ are left. This sum will go on to pay for our salarieses. It amounts to a 750€ salary + 172,5€ of social security contributions (during the first year) for 2 co-associates.

 

Our Goal

 

At 12 pairs sold, we can cover our expenses, but we won’t be able to pay for our salaries.

At 30 pairs sold, we can be compensated for our work. It clearly isn’t a big salary but it rewards us for our investment in time and love of shoes and nature.

At 60 pairs sold, our brand becomes profitable and provides us with a stable monthly income of about 800 € / net each.

Beyond that, we will be able to readjust our markup in order to give to an even wider community the opportunity to wear shoes that are both ethical and respectful of nature and its animals.

and what about the $$$

You know everything about our materials, how and where the models are made, how we set our margins… but what about the financing?

We didn’t ask for investment funds. We want to stay independent and don’t want an exponential growth. We want to go slowly and take the time to do things well: to make mistakes first and then set them right, to experiment, to make models that are important to us.

We didn’t offer pre-orders or launch a crowdfunding campaign because we didn’t want to be pressed for time and then botch the development of our shoes. Now that they are ready, we wouldn’t want to increase the margin to repay the crowdfunding platform. To offer our models at the best price and with the highest quality, we avoid middlemans as much as we can.

We have thus financed our beautiful project with our savings. It goes without saying that it means a great deal to us!

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 by GURU mtp —

on vous dit tout sur vos chaussures

le choix des matières

Nous sommes en constante recherche de nouveaux matériaux, tant pour réussir à terme à nous défaire de tout produit de transformation pétrolière, que pour encourager la recherche et le développement de matières innovantes et naturelles.

Le polyuréthane

Le polyuréthane (PU) est un polymère issu de l’industrie pétro-chimique.
Alors pourquoi le polyuréthane ?
Pour ses qualités d’élasticité et de robustesse. C’est avec cette matière que sont fabriquées les roues des patins à roulette, les préservatifs et les combinaisons spatiales !

C’est un choix judicieux pour l’application aux chaussures car il est transpirant tout en étant imperméable, ce qui évite une sudation excessive. Il est souple et garantit le confort. Et il est résistant à l’abrasion et aux tâches. Il est également exempt de phtalates, de BPA (bisphénol A), connus comme étant des perturbateurs endocriniens.

Tous nos textiles contenant du PU sont fabriqués en Europe et sont garantis par le label 100 d’OEKO-TEX. Ils sont produits sans émission de CO2, leur finition les rend respirant, antimicrobien et anti-moisissure.

Nous n’utilisons pas de PVC qui est plus polluant et plus toxique. Il dégage plus de composés organiques volatiles et rejette des composants toxiques (tel que l’acide chlorhydrique) lors de sa combustion.

La microfibre

La microfibre est fabriquée à partir de fibres synthétiques qui sont liées entre elles par l’apposition à chaud d’une résine de polyuréthane. C’est un non-tissé. Elle offre un aspect “peau de pêche” plus ou moins doux, pouvant rappeler le nubuck et le cuir velours animal. La microfibre offre l’avantage d’une très bonne respirabilité et ne se déforme pas.

Toutes nos microfibres sont fabriquées en Europe, et sont garanties par le label 100 d’OEKO-TEX. Elles sont produites sans émission de CO2, leur finition les rend respirant, antimicrobien, et anti-moisissure.

STANDARD 100 by OEKO-TEX

Label de l’association indépendante Allemande, OEKO-TEX certifie les qualités écologiques des textiles et une production respectueuse de ses ouvriers. Il garantit l’absence de substance nocives pour l’environnement, tant lors de sa fabrication qu’une fois porté. Les tests sont faits par des laboratoires indépendants et intègrent les plus récentes connaissances scientifiques et exigences légales.
Pour plus d’infos, rendez-vous sur le site de OEKO-TEX  (↗).

Le Piñatex

Le Piñatex est un textile non-tissé. Il est issu de la fibre de la plante de l’ananas. Cultivé pour sa chair aux Philippines, ses déchets tige feuille — y sont décortiqués afin d’en extraire une longue fibre qui, agrégée, deviendra le matériau brut.

En Espagne, cette feuille est recouverte d’une finition en PLA (acide polylactique), un bioplastique.

Le PLA a l’avantage d’être biodégradable et issu d’une ressource naturelle. Mais sa dégradation lui prendrait un temps considérable dans la nature. Seul, il est recyclable, mais ne l’est malheureusement plus une fois associé à la fibre d’ananas. L’équipe de Ananas Anam travaille constamment à améliorer son produit : une couche de finition bio-sourcée pour améliorer la biodégradabilité et le recyclage de sa matière est en développement.

Le Piñatex a été testé par l’Institut indépendant pour le cuir et le cuir synthétique en Allemagne et son analyse conclut que cette matière est aussi résistante à la charge et aux plis à répétition que le cuir animal  .

Pour plus d’infos, rendez-vous sur le site de Ananas Anam .

Semelles et accessoires

Semelles sourcées localement. Accessoires sourcés localement et sans nickel.

Un long mot sur l'industrie du cuir

L’opacité dans cette industrie est une règle sine qua non et l’on a souvent tendance à penser que la peau qui sert à notre chaussure est naturelle, qu’elle provient de l’animal que l’on mange et dont la production est moins nocive pour l'environnement ou l’homme que les simili cuirs.

Ce sont 1,4 milliard d’animaux qui sont tués chaque année pour leur peau, soit 2 fois la population humaine européenne. Parmi ces animaux, on trouve vaches, chèvres et agneaux, mais également chats et chiens — dont la peau très souple et fine est particulièrement prisée pour la confection des gants. Sans surprise, cette information n’est que très rarement indiquée sur l’étiquette.

L’estampillage Made in France ou Made in Italy ne concernant que l’assemblage, les matières elles, peuvent venir de n’importe où dans le monde. Et contrairement aux idées reçues, les animaux tués pour leur chair en Europe, élevés dans des conditions abominables, ont la peau trop abîmée pour être transformée. Ainsi, un rapport de l’ONU estime que 80% des peaux servant à l’industrie du cuir proviennent de pays en voie de développement tels que le Bangladesh, l’Inde, la Chine… À peine 2% proviennent de France et concernent des produits de haute gamme.

La peau animale doit ensuite être traitée : c’est ce qu’on appelle le tannage, processus complexe et dévastateur pour l’environnement. Très gourmand en eau et contenant des produits chimiques dangereux, tel que le chrome, il est également très dangereux pour l’homme. Dans ces pays, les employé•es des tanneries sont exposé•es à ces produits sans aucune protection. Les eaux usées lors du processus sont rarement traitées, et reversées directement dans la nature. On estime que chaque jour, 21 million de litres d’eaux usées, provenant des 150 tanneries de la ville, sont déversées directement dans la rivière à Dhaka, capitale du Bangladesh. 

Et ce procédé n’est pas non plus sans danger une fois le tannage terminé car le chrome, mélangé à d’autres produits chimiques, peut se relever allergène ou cancérigène. En 2014, l’office fédéral Allemand pour la protection des consommateur estime que 1 paire de chaussures en cuir sur 4 contient du trioxyde de chrome.

Pour plus d'informations, nous vous invitons à visionner ces reportages :

Quand le cuir en veut à notre peau, France 5, 213.

Chaussures en cuir : l'affligeant quotidien des tanneurs indiens, UFC-Que Choisir, 2012

Le cuir végétal, Arte, 2019

Vous pouvez aussi lire les nombreux articles de PETA sur l'industrie du cuir

 

Il n’y a pas de choix évidents ou de solution parfaite, mais une volonté d’avancer en choisissant les matériaux les moins agressifs, et d’être en recherche de nouvelles solutions et de les encourager en les intégrant à nos collections.

où naissent nos chaussures ?

Nos chaussures sont dessinées dans le sud de la France. Le design est notre métier. Nous ne venons pas du marketing et nous ne faisons pas de copie. Nous vous offrons le meilleur de notre expérience. En rupture avec les pratiques de la mode, nous désirons remettre le produit au cœur de notre travail. Pour cela nous nous appuyons sur l’expertise de deux usines. L’une au Portugal, au sud de Porto, où des usines familiales continuent la transmission des savoir-faire. Et la seconde, en Espagne, dans l’arrière-pays d’Alicante, au cœur de la région historique de production des chaussures au style élégant.

Du dessin à la mise en boîte, les chaussures vont connaitre les mains de dizaines de techniciens et d’ouvriers. La chaussure est un produit complexe et fascinant.

Tout au départ il faut concevoir « la forme », qui sert de moule inversé et qui définit le profil de la chaussure, mais aussi son confort. Un moule est nécessaire pour chaque pointure.

Puis vient le patronage et le prototypage. Nous essayons de réduire les tentatives, mais il arrive que  4 essais soient nécessaires pour que le modèle soit aussi bien en vrai que dans notre esprit ! Une fois l’échantillon validé, des tests de confort sont effectués, les matières achetées et enfin, l’usine peut lancer la production.

D’abord, l’ouvrier découpe les matières, effectue le rempliage, le collage, puis c’est au tour des piqueuses d’assembler les pièces. La tige (c’est le nom donné au dessus de la chaussure) est prête. Après l’enfilage des lacets, c’est aux grosses machines d’entrer en jeu. L’opérateur agrafe la première de montage sous la forme, puis, tour à tour monte l’avant de la tige, galbe le cou de pied et monte l’arrière de la tige. La matière en trop est poncée. Le talon est fiché et la semelle collée. À ce stade, on peut retirer la forme pour qu’elle recommence le tour. Notre modèle est presque prêt, direction le bichonnage : la première de propreté est placée au fond de la chaussure, et pour finir, celle-ci est nettoyée, brossée et cirée. Les deux chaussures sont mises en boîte dans la salle des mariages.

Elles n’attendent plus qu’à être portées !

L’usine va mettre deux jours pour fabriquer une série de chaussures. Il faut laisser reposer la chaussure entre les différentes étapes car si l’on va trop vite la chaussure se déforme. Pour régler les différentes machines de la chaîne de montage au moule et à la forme du modèle, il faut compter entre une demi-journée et une journée entière.

 

Nous produisons de très petites séries d’une centaine de paires par modèle, dans des usines à taille humaine. Notre choix à un impact sur notre prix. Il faut compter autour de 12€ de coût de main d’œuvre pour une simple paire. Mais c’est le prix juste pour des ouvriers qualifiés qui confectionnent nos collections avec soin.

 

la marge… le sujet épineux !

Chez GURU nous pensons que plus le consommateur est informé sur ce qu’il achète plus le marché sera juste, pour celui qui produit, pour les animaux et pour l’environnement.

Aussi nous vous communiquons toutes nos informations de prix, de matières, de localisation. Nous vous donnons aussi notre marge commerciale. Et cela crée beaucoup de réactions. Les professionnels pensent que le/la client•e n’est pas prêt•e à payer pour de la marge et qu’il ne faut surtout pas la communiquer.

Dans l’industrie de la chaussure et de la mode, la culture est de faire penser aux client•es qu’iels sont gagnant•es avec leur achat, que grâce aux remises, rabais ou soldes, iel fait une bonne affaire. Il est surtout évident que l’industriel a calculé le coût de ses « cadeaux » et qu’il les a intégrés dans sa marge. Le/la client•e ne fait qu’acheter le produit au prix où l’industriel voulait lui vendre. Dans son intérêt il ne vaut mieux pas que le/la client•e connaisse ses marges.

La marge, à quoi ça sert ?

 

La marge finance ce qui permet de produire les chaussures et de les vendre, ainsi que de contribuer à nos obligations légales. Cette marge permet le fonctionnement de GURU mtp.

 

Sous nos produits, nous indiquons une marge de vente, c’est notre marge brute que nous avons essayé d’optimiser pour avoir un prix de vente au plus juste. Elle est pour cette collection comprise entre 2,15 et 2,8. Dans l’industrie de la chaussure, c’est une marge très faible. Elle est généralement de 3 à 5 en fonction des marques.

 

Nous ne pouvons pas donner exactement l’utilisation des euros collectés par modèle, puisque cela dépend de la quantité de modèles vendus et de leurs marges respectives. Mais nous pouvons faire des estimations pour mieux vous faire comprendre ce que votre achat finance.

 

Lors de la clôture des comptes nous vous communiquerons les affectations réelles de notre marge.

 

La marge finance nos charges fixes et nos charges variables. Elle ne représente pas nos bénéfices.

• Charges fixes, ce que nous payons tous les mois quelques soient nos ventes : compte bancaire, assurances, comptabilité, site internet, loyer, matériel, déplacements et communication.

• Charges Variables, ce que nous coûtent nos ventes : commissions bancaires, emballage, déplacements et communication.

• Les déplacements et la communication font partie des budgets alloués à l’année mais varient aussi en fonction de nos ventes (exemple : lors d’un salon végane).

 

Pour être plus concret voici ce que finance notre Marge dans une simulation de 30 paires vendues par mois, du modèle Tarentule noir :

Prix d’achat usine : 39,75€

Prix de vente : 100€

TVA : 20€ reversés à l’État.

 

Marge commerciale : 60,25€

 

Administratif

Commission bancaire (ex. paypal) : 3,00€

Suivi comptable : 6,50€

Compte Pro : 1€

Juridique : 0,50€

Matériel 

Recherche et matières : 0,50€

Fournitures et documentation : 0,70€

Matériel informatique : 2,20€

Emballage : 2,50€

Communication 

Site : 0,70€

Salons : 3€

Photos : 2,67€

Déplacements : 1,67€

Impôts et taxes : 1,33€

 

Total des charges : 26,27€

 

Il reste par modèle vendu 30,33€. Ils seront utilisés pour notre rémunération. Soit 750€ de salaire et 172,5€ de charges sociales (lors de la première année) pour 2 co-associées.

 

Notre Objectif

Pour 12 paires vendues, nous pouvons financer nos charges, mais sans dégager de quoi nous rémunérer.

Pour 30 paires vendues, nous commençons à nous verser un revenu. Certes faible, mais qui nous récompense pour notre investissement en temps et en amour des chaussures et de la nature.

Pour 60 paires vendues, notre marque est rentable pour nous permettre une rémunération stable d’environ 800€/net mensuel chacune.

Au-delà, nous pourrons réajuster nos marges pour proposer au plus grand nombre de pouvoir se chausser de manière éthique et respectueuse pour la nature et ses animaux.

et l'argent dans tout ça

Nous vous disons d’où viennent nos matières, où sont fabriqués nos modèles, quelles sont nos marges… mais quid de notre financement ?

Nous n’avons pas fait appel à des fonds d’investissements. Nous souhaitons rester indépendants et ne voulons pas d’une croissance exponentielle. Nous voulons aller doucement pour prendre le temps de bien faire les choses, de nous tromper, de réessayer, de proposer des modèles qui nous tiennent à cœur.

Nous n’avons pas fait de pré-commandes ou de campagne de financement participatif, car nous ne voulions pas avoir à courir après le temps et bâcler le développement des chaussures. Et maintenant qu’elles sont prêtes, nous ne voulons pas augmenter la marge pour rétribuer la plateforme de financement participatif. Pour proposer nos modèles aux meilleurs prix et à la meilleure qualité, nous évitons d’ajouter des intermédiaires.

Alors nous avons financé notre beau projet avec nos économies.

Autant vous dire qu’il nous tient à cœur !

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 par GURU mtp —